16 Ahwatukee Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

In Blog, Education on September 28, 2016 by Community Expert Team
16 Ahwatukee Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Sixteen Ahwatukee seniors have been named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists.

According to the Ahwatukee Foothills News, one Mountain Pointe High School senior and 15 Desert Vista High seniors join 16,000 other students from across the country who were named semifinalists.

From here, national semifinalists will be cut down to a pool of finalists, and from there, students will be judged on their academic record, extracurricular and outside-of-school activities, leadership, employment and awards in order to become a National Merit scholar, the newspaper said. Winners will earn up to $2,500 in scholarship money.

According to the article, the Desert Vista semifinalists are: Mya G. Carrizosa, Jocelyn Y. Chen, Kyle R. Corrette, Hannah Fuchs, Brandon Jiang, Matthew D. Jobe, Bobae C. Johnson, Dylan L. Ketcham, Jaeyoung Kim, Neha Parvathala, Tyle Ruan, Kendall M. Schwartz, Alice L. Wong, Kai Yin and Sang Bo Yoon. Mica A. Stewart is the Mountain Pointe semifinalist.

Read more here.

Other stories

This local update courtesy of your Ahwatukee Community Expert.

Connect with Agents | Explore Neighborhoods | View Home Listings

Blog Categories
Blog (177)
Business (9)
Community News (133)
Education (31)
Events (34)
news (51)
Press Release (2)
Real Estate (19)
Restaurants (6)
Things to Do (31)
Uncategorized (1)